Tuesday, September 18, 2007

China Open Tennis Tournament

Fernando Gonzalez beat Tommy Robredo in three sets in the final of the ATP China Open on Sunday. The women's event will follow the men's tournament this week.

The annual tournament takes place at the Beijing Tennis Center situated near Zhao Gong Kou, near South Ring Road no. 4. The Beijing Tennis Center's center court has a 10,000 capacity and there are 15 other smaller courts at the complex.

The ATP tournament in Beijing began in 1993 with a 5-year hiatus between 1998-2003. Michael Chang won the first three tournaments to be staged. Other past winners include Marat Safin and Rafael Nadal.

© Beijing-visitor.com